Posted by: Kristin | March 5, 2009

Oranges in the Elevator

Early this morning, half-awake on another rainy day in Seattle, I got into the elevator of my building where there was a man holding a briefcase and a small bag of oranges. To my surprise, he offered me one which I accepted.

On the next floor, my very shy neighbor who never makes eye contact & who I have never spoken to (not for lack of trying) entered the elevator and was immediately offered an orange too! The face of my shy neighbor lit up as he gleefully accepted and started to telling me that nobody had ever offered him an orange in an elevator before, and how touched he was (imagine that?!).

Fascinated by this simple yet profound interaction with my neighbors, especially the shy man’s response and the how the whole act of offering oranges produced this spurt of goodwill, communication and neighborly love – left me thinking and responding aloud: “I’m sure there is some sort of symbolism in all this…”

Leave a Reply

Categories

