Posted by: Kristin | April 13, 2009

Take A Stand, Stand in Your Vision, and Stand By Me!

Well, something is in the air that smells of inspiration. I’ll start by sharing a link to a short and sweet music video of a well-known song (Stand By Me) – which reminds us yet again that we’re all connected in this world (Thanks reader M.M. for sending this):

Stand By Me – Video from Around the World

Yes, we all need someone to stand by us, and I ask us to remember too to take a stand, and stand in our vision – as my dear mentor, Gloria Burgess, reminds us in this powerful poem entitled “Song to Myself” from her inspiring book, Dare to Wear Your Soul on the Outside:

It doesn’t matter to me

what you do or where you work.
I want to know
who you are
when the sun goes down
and if you are willing
to put everything on the line
to fulfill your soul’s desire.

It doesn’t matter to me

how much bread you can afford
to put on your own table.
I want to know
if you knead and wait
and bake the bread and share
your blessings at someone else’s table.
I want to know
if you can look into the eyes
of a young woman
who sleeps with fear each night
the one who dared to walk
away from the hands that pummeled her.
I want to know
if you can share her pain.

It doesn’t matter to me
what neighborhood you live in
or what kind of car you drive.
I want to know
what drives you
what compels you
to follow your soul’s longing.
I want to know
what pierces your heart
awakes you at night and inspired you
to devote yourself to whomever
or whatever moves you.
I want to know
how many times you’ve opened
your heart and extended a hand
to your homeless sister or brother.
I want to know
if you will sit in the quiet dark hours
between midnight and dawn listening
to another’s heartsong.

It doesn’t matter to me
how many unspeakable secrets you have.
I want to know
if you will share your secrets
to liberate your demons
so they don’t devour you
or those you love.
I want to know
if you will risk looking foolish
to embrace your bliss.
I want to know
if you will grasp the sleeve
of a nameless elder stumbling on his way
and lead him in from the cold.
I want to know
if you will throw away your cloak
and show your heart if you will dare
to wear your soul on the outside.

It doesn’t matter to me

how many mountains
you’ve climbed or will climb.
I want to know
if you’ve fallen down
in the valley of despair.
I want to know
if you’ve scarred your knees
on the stones of self-abandonment.
I want to know
how long you’ve been hidden in the shadows
of hypocrisy prejudice addiction abuse.
I want to know
if you will stop
to light a candle and pray with others
who will surely wander there.

It doesn’t matter to me
what you say you will do for others.
I want to know
if you will act
with courage and conviction
if you will daily cradle the frail hand
of your mother when she no longer
knows your name.
I want to know
if you will look into the hazel
gray or ebony eyes of a stranger
and say yes to affirm your sister
your brother yourself.
I want to know
if you will take the time to be still
call the names and pass the cup
to honor the ancestors
who cleared a path
and broke new ground
for you and your children.

It doesn’t matter to me

that you have a past.
I want to know
if you will celebrate your present
if you will take a stand
declare yourself sing I am
boldly and with rejoicing
not only to the stars at night
but to anyone
anywhere
without apologies
or regrets.

Thank you, Gloria, may we heed the call to wear our souls on the outside! 🙂

Responses

  1. Very inspirational, thanks for sharing!

  2. Thanks for sharing this Kristin, I love the video!


Leave a Reply

Categories

