Posted by: Kristin | May 9, 2009

Seattle-Paris-Amman…What Time is It?

I’m currently sitting in the Charles De Galle airport in Paris waiting for my next flight to Amman, Jordan. I feel very blessed that I’m able to travel so much, but amazed that leaps in time zones and long flights always leave me in such a daze. Airports are such odd places and worlds of their own. A mix of languages and people, yet also strangely homogenous in appearance no matter which city in the world you happen to be in. This reminds me of an excellent book I read a while back called Global Soul by Pico Iyer. He is a travel writer and the book’s subtitle is “Jet Lag, Shopping Malls and the Search for Home”. You get the sense – it’s all about the travel blur (which is exactly how I feel now, not very coherent) from one airport in the world to the next, with the mix of time zones and familiar food & shopping chains…

Leave a Reply

Categories

