Posted by: Kristin | November 19, 2012

Exploring SKY, LIGHT, PEACE and DUSK in Kyoto

20121120-135433.jpg

I’ve been in Kyoto, Japan for about two weeks now. This place is magical! Little did I know that autumn is one of the most beautiful times of year, with the rich orange-red fall foliage surrounding the city. Kyoto is the heart of authentic Japanese culture. My favorite activity is to get lost in the charming alleyways on my bike. Although everything seems really expensive here, my bike purchase ($80) was the best value for money and most useful purchase in Kyoto. My bike “wings” take me everywhere!

I was also blessed to be introduced to a master calligraphy sensei. I take private lessons from him every week. He doesn’t speak a word of English, but somehow I understand his feedback about space, balance and the direction of my strokes. This photo demonstrates today’s work — the Japanese characters for SKY, LIGHT, PEACE and DUSK. All aspects of life that I seem to experience more fully, here in Kyoto…


Leave a comment

Categories